President’s Trophy Boat Race

Photo Credit :

The President’s Trophy Boat Race, a popular snake boat race held on Kerala Day, in Kollam, the cashew paradise of Kerala.

The venue is at Gateway of Ashtamudi. The race will start from the water column near Thevally Palace and finishing point will be front of the house boat terminal. The water body having 1250 m long in between these two points is scheduled as the Track for the race.

As the oarsmen energize their oars with the rapid rhythm of the vanchipattu typical song of the boatman, the snake boats slice through pristine race course of Ashtamudi Lake to a spectacular finish.

Hundreds of spectators, including tourists from abroad, thronging the lake front, erupts out of joy.Boat race is telecasted live in DD National and DD Malayalam.

Her Excellency the Honorable President of India, Smt.Pratibha Devisingh Patil gave away the first President’s Trophy and cash prize of Rs. 10 lakh to the winners.

There would be races in five categories namely, Chundan Vallam, Veppu Vallam, Iruttukuthi Vallam. Sixteen snake boats would compete in four heats.

The ever rolling trophy has been instituted in the name of the President of India. The honorable President of India will be present to view the race and do the honors to the winning team.

Map View

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Create a trip plan to President’s Trophy Boat Race FREE

Places to visit near President’s Trophy Boat Race

Recent Travellers

Leave a review

Create fully customized day by day itinerary for FREE